Rising Stars Set To Learn

Every year, Speedway Australia’s Rising Star program sees some of the sport’s top youth talent travel to Canberra for a week of high intensity learning. Built with both theory and practical sessions, the program will see 19 athletes enjoy a wide range of topics, all designed to help them transition into high performance competitors of the future.

Heading into it’s 11th year, this year’s Rising Stars will experience a course tailor made for them and their futures held over four days on April 15th through 18th. This will see them dive into topics like; nutrition, recovery, adrenalin, sports psychology, strength & conditioning, respect & perception, physiology testing, marketing and much more. After consultation with last year’s attendees and working with the staff at the Australian Institute of Sport, Speedway Australia are confident the program will not only again be a success but will put them in a position to further support each athlete post-program.

Attendees this year will arrive in Canberra having departed from a wide range of towns and cities, covering seven states & territories across the country. Adding to this, multiple industry guests will be in attendance including the likes of four-time Australian Formula 500 Champion Liam Williams, experienced speedway personalities Ben Bishop & Wade Aunger, Speedway Sedans Australia CEO Greg Lynd and more. Their support of the program will offer valuable insight to the future stars of our sport and Speedway Australia thanks them for their commitment.

Our stars of 2019 head to the program with backgrounds in a wide range of classes. These include Formula 500s, Lightning Sprints, Karts, Speedcars, Sprintcars, Junior Sedans, Modified Sedans, Street Stocks, Production Sedans & Wingless Sprints. The group of drivers includes; Tyson Martin, Alex Ross, Carly Walsh, Samuel Payne, Brayden Parr, Alisha Fielder, Jakobe Jetson, Tate Frost, Kirby Hillyer, Tarhlea Apelt, Bodie Smith, Trent Vardy, Casey O'Connell, Cody O'Connell, Brad Scherer, Ben Atkinson Jnr, Keenan Fleming, Jack Selmes & Jorj Park. All of these drivers will be looking to emulate the success of previous attendees who have gone on to win numerous blue-ribbon events.